Operation Herrick British Battlegroup – Airfix 1/48 Warrior, Jackal, Coyote and Land Rover

Some group shots of the finished Brits …..

Taken last week before the convention, unfortunately they didn’t get on the tables as the games were scenario based battles between Taliban and ISAF Infantry with players playing three games with each side. The games were played in great spirit by all and I was jammy enough to have a bit of luck, winning 5 and drawing 1, although I’m claiming that one as a moral win for my Taliban as I prevented the ANA from gaining their objective. What I learned was that a mob of Taliban can look much more scary than their skill/stat lines would show (I took a force of 15 so many were really poor quality) and can tie up very small elite special force groups (5 or 6) unless they are handled very aggressively. We also used random event cards which ranged from being hilarious, pinning a sniper with “Jelly belly” to scary effective, my Tali boys being the target of a “fast air” strike and scattering in panic. All in all and even though the vehicles only got to watch it was great fun ……

And as for the Tankies themselves, the build wips are buried in my blog but to recap the Jackal, Coyote and Snatch are straight out of the Airfix box with only aerials added while the Warrior has had a bit more fiddling done to it, and needs a touch more as I still have the armoured glass windows to fit to the turret crew survivability kit. They are brush painted using both Humbrol enamels and GW acrylics and weathered with oils. Now to start building the others …….

Q

.
afg grp 020 1400

afg grp 021 1400

afg grp 022 1400

afg grp 023 1400

jackals n coyote 124 1400

jackals n coyote 125 1400

jackals n coyote 126 1400

warror 122 1400

warror 123 1400

warror 124 1400

warror 128 1400

warror 129 1400

warror 130 1400 cu

4 comments on “Operation Herrick British Battlegroup – Airfix 1/48 Warrior, Jackal, Coyote and Land Rover

  1. These are amazing. Seeing them in the ‘flesh’ so to speak on the weekend was even more amazing. I keep finding new stuff on them that you have done each time I look at them. They will look great in the new Sangin Despatches. Now to paint some Marines to go with the Abrams.

    • Thnx big guy …… should’ve remembered to grab those marines and spare heads as now Jarrods interested in playing we need some troops !!! lol Plus I’ve almost finished the clean up of the old rule set and need to do some testing ………..

  2. I can send you the Marines if you want. I could also send you the insurgents I have to oppose them…saves me painting them.

Leave a Reply

