Airfix Warrior – Modern British MTP uniform 2

MTP test fig finished ………..

Well I finished the test trooper in MTP. Improved the detail on the Helmet by adding a replacement NVG mounting strap and clips. While painting I realised I should have replaced the platoon comms microphone. I’d previously replaced the ones on the turret TC and Gunner, figuring the crew headsets and mics were more prominent. I should have done the troopers too in hindsight, too late for this guy but I’ll track the others down and fix em …….

Anyway the paint went on ok. I decided to paint the body armour, knapsack and some of the pouches in plain DDPM to add some contrast to the camoflage. As Keith mentions in a comment on the first MTP installment, when painting modern camo especially, the packs and details can get lost in the camo. While that may be the idea (lol) it doesn’t make for a very visual figure. So the plain webbing helps and I also spent a bit of extra time working on the shading / shadows.

All in all and while it’s taken some effort, I think the plain and soft Airfix figures can scrub up pretty well. Which is just as well as there aren’t any other options available in 1/48th yet …….

Q

.
Warrior crew w0400

Warrior crew w042

Warrior crew w046

Warrior crew w049

Warrior crew w044

I’m often asked about the colours I use. Well I usually mix my paint and current use mostly last generation (out of production) GW acrylics. This makes it really a moot point to try and detail the ratios of each colour used. Instead I’ve been producing colour swatches of paints as I mix them. That means when I come to re-mix a batch, even using a different paint system, I can faff about with my alchemaic blending until I have a pretty close match to my favourite colour.

Below are the primary colours I settled on for my MTP camo test.

Pea Green base – the whole uniform gets this as a base colour
Mid Green diruptor – this goes on next, covering roughly 25% of the uniform
Dark Earth disuptor – the third colour added to cover roughly 25% of the uniform
Desert DDPM base – my base colour for DDPM. Used as an light accent colour at roughly 5% or less
Dark Chocolate Brown (not shown) – the final dark accent colour, apply sparingly at around 5% or less

.
MTP Pal-1

5 comments on “Airfix Warrior – Modern British MTP uniform 2

  1. i had a half decent attempt on mtp a few years back using all 9 different colours in layers… looking at yours though, i got the pink all wrong and the layers are not as standard as on DPM. great job mate

Leave a Reply

