Image

Mayan Apocalypse . . . NZ style.

Well no Mayan Apocalypse as predicted …. and I know why. Because over xmas we took one for the team here in NZ. Yes, so you all could enjoy your pink gins and cucumber sammies we suffered through our own mini version of the apocalypse, so that no one else had to. At least that’s my story anyway. Here’s a sampling of the fun times we’ve had down here at Queeg HQ.

December 12 : Washing machine suffers catastrophic control system meltdown, much smoke, screeching and water leakage. Clothing is washed in the bath for a few days as a replacement is sourced and credit accounts emptied. On a plus note the new machine is quite shiny and makes a lot less smoke and noise than the old one.

December 16 : House PC makes crunching sounds and fails to boot up. A little disappointing as all my HOQ-biz pictures and contact info is on it. Not a total loss however as cunningly I have a backup pc out in the painting studio. The plan “B” is to temporarily move that inside until I can steal money to fix the main pc.

December 17 : Backup pc fails to start. I suffer my first minor doubts over plan “B” and spend an hour or two crying in the garden. Kicking the machine fails to help and I now begin to think it’s mocking me in it’s silence. It’s official, I hate PC’s.

December 21 : Mayan end of the world date. Yup, I should have stayed in bed and sat this day out. Stumbled out to the kitchen to make my wake up coffee. Standing at the bench in that half-aware morning funk, it took me some time to realise that my bunny slippers were getting wet. Looking down expecting to see the cats water dish overturned, the amount of water flooding the kitchen floor gave me a new insight into why Noah made his ark. An hour of sopping up later it appeared that my 42 year old hot water cylinder had finally given up the will to live and dropped it’s arse out all over my kitchen floor. I suppose it’s demise was inevitable, but it’s timing could have been a little better. On the bright side the bank agreed to fund a replacement if I promised to sign over my soul and lie about my ability to repay the mortgage extension, and the new cylinder is very shiny and warm and leaks a lot less water than the old one …..

And now I have a temporary pc so the xmas disasters are almost all forgotten. Being plugged back into the net again is almost like winning the lottery and so while I’m still flushed with the excitement of partially working technology I think I better make a few “make up” posts ……. got a few forums to catch up on too if I can remember the logon passwords : )

Q

A few project piccies, more detailed posts to follow soon ……

DSC00925-1
DSC00926-1
Foundry Russians

DSC01111-1111
Foundry Napoleonic British artillery crew

DSC00941-31
Tamiya 1/48th Stugs

48 group2
Tamiya 1/48th SdKfz222, SdKfz250/3, MarderIII and PzIII

DSC01136-1
Project ’46 stuff – Tamiya 1/48th TigerII and Dragon 1/72nd PantherF

DSC01100-11
Revell 1/35th Jagdpanzer IV

DSC01203-11
Deathwing Landraider

DSC01193-1
1/16 Maybach HL230 P45 (Tiger to follow lol)

By houseofqueeg Posted in General

4 comments on “Mayan Apocalypse . . . NZ style.

  1. Yeah, I ve been feeling sorry for you until I saw the cool things you have been painting. Now I am jealous of your skills and toys and not in the least bit feeling any sympathy πŸ™‚ I want more tank pics! I think any post with GW stuiff in it should have the words SPACE MARINE in them and some cussing so the trademark police don’t get complacent-lol.

    • Very funny : ))) Tank pics coming don’t panic …. and I’m not going to name anything GW or 40k again in principle. Despite my long term love affair with GW stuff (since Citadel Miniatures started) and sPACE mARINES (non TM) in particular, I think their recent policies, treatment of older customers, nazi like legal bullying and rediculous prices finally means they’ll get no more of my money until they go bust and have to change their ways.

      Considering that almost everything GW has developed in its legend, lore and iconography can be traced to either previous historical sourses or written fiction, their whole trademark campaign reminds one of another brownshirted company who thought they could impose their twisted version of reality on the worlds masses in 1930s and 40s. Many would like to think that the guys who made the PR gaff have been censured for being a tad over zealous but I know how corporate thinking works and the reality of it is they’re all sitting around the boardroom laughing the dicks off at how they got away with it.

      Fortunately there’s so much more stuff around that’s better value and business that value hard won customers …. now back to my Heinlein and Clark to read about …. real SPACE MARINES.

  2. Hey, welcome back to the airwaves Queegling. Hopefully you’ve used up your bad luck for quite some time … and a little bit of mine as well.

    Those Russians are going to make some lucky person very happy! 8O)

    Salute
    von Peter himself

    • Lol …. I hope they will Pete! As for luck, at least most big things are newish now and on an even better note I had to HP them on terms so long that the kids will actually be paying for them long after I go for my big dirt nap : ))))

      Still got a PC to sort out though grrrrr …. the temp one I’m using now barely runs and has a registry so stuffed up that some days I can’t access logon for web sites, it just hangs there. Still needs must and it’s better than being completely cut off.

Leave a Reply

